Our History

The National Federation of Republican Women (NFRW) was founded at a conference held at the Palmer House in Chicago, September 23-24, 1938.

The organization originally was known as the National Federation of Women’s Republican Clubs of America.  The name was changed in January 1953 to the National Federation of Republican Women.

The seal of the NFRW is the American Eagle, king of birds, holding a quill pen and standing guard over our most treasured tool of democracy – the ballot box.  The seal was adopted at the biennial convention in 1944.

The Tennessee Federation of Republican Women (TNFRW) was founded in 1955 under the leadership of Mrs. Alice Elder.  She became the first president of the Tennessee Federation.  She organized women’s groups in her own district and across the state before Tennessee became affiliated with the National Federation.

Women from Tennessee who served on the Republican National Committee preceding The Tennessee Federation of Republican Women were: 

Mrs. Mary Giles Howard1924-29
Mrs. Beulah Overall Hughes1928-32
Mrs. Ruby Roach McLane1942-53
Mrs. Lupton Patton1955-60
Mrs. Irene B. Parker1960

Mrs. Mary G. Howard served as an associate member of the RNC.  National Committeewomen serving since the affiliation of the Federation are:

Mrs. Louise G. ReeceFirst District
Mrs. Jeanne GeraghtyThird District
Mrs. Peggy SpurrierNinth District
Mrs. Maida PearsonNinth District
Mrs. Alice AlgoodSeventh District
Mrs. Lilian CokerThird District

Tennessee Federation of Republican Women Past Presidents

1955-1962Alice Eder (Mrs. Garrison)Chattanooga
1963-1966Julia Bales CallowayMorristown
1967-1969Ann Tuck (Mrs. James R.)Nashville
1970-1973Ruth Tobias (Mrs. Melvin)Chattanooga or Signal Mt.
1974-1977Dorothy Clawson (Mrs. John)Morristown
1978-1981Eleanor Rooks (Mrs. Ned)Brownsville
1982-1983Frances Turner (Mrs. Tom)Murfreesboro
1983-Louise Chamberlain (Mrs. Buford)Greeneville
1984-1987Reba Brown (Mrs. Hebert)Chattanooga
1988-1991Ellida Fri (Mrs. Jim)Memphis
1992-1993Marcy HaleBrentwood
1994-1997Barbara McAndrew (Mrs. Y.J.)Dandridge
1998-1999Shirley CurryWaynesboro
1999-2001Claire Bawcom (Mrs. Richard)Franklin
2001-2003Betty Cannon (Mrs. Jim)Nashville
2004-2005Annette Pannell (Mrs. Winston E.)Kingsport
2006-2009Shirley Ward (Mrs. Doug)Covington
2010-2011Susan Witcher (Mrs. Ken)Red Boiling Springs
2012-2013B. Claire Crouch (Steve Eldridge)Cosby
2013-2017Linda D. Buckles (Mrs. John)Kingsport
2018-2021Barbara TrautmanGermantown